Student Feedback (Week 11)

Student FeedbackCan you believe it?  It’s pretty much April!  You all are so close to finishing the semester!  Finish strongly!  Don’t forget to check out the awesome list of recommended music from your classmates.

The italicized comments are my responses.  I value all feedback, opinions, and contributions to the classroom.  Thank you for sharing this with me–it helps me address your needs as a section.  Please review these weekly, you’ll find that it benefits you well.  Be intentional when it comes to your education.  

Section 001 (MW)

  • The speakers were cool and explained things about study abroad more clearly about expectations.
  • Surprise, surprise…another great week of class.  Keep doing what you are doing, great teacher.  Keep it up.
    • Thanks!  I really appreciate that.
  • I had been wondering where or how  you developed your cultural awareness.  You don’t seem to be just a naive person who likes to travel…
    • I love traveling!  Listening to others’ stories is definitely one of the best ways to learn about other cultures.  Definitely a great practice and keeps me grounded.  I have to remind myself of all the world’s treasures.
  • I’m really excited to learn about how I can plan to study abroad.  Love this class so much I keep trying to talk my friends to take it.
    • Thanks!  I really appreciate that too!  I’d much rather have people who were recommended to take my course–pay it forward!  And thank  you again.

SECTION 006 (TR)

  • Thanks for bringing in the speakers, I would have never had considered studying abroad had you not brought them in.  Now I’m actually considering it!
    • Definitely go!  Life changing experience!
  • The guest speakers today got me so excited about studying abroad!  I can’t wait!
  • I have always wanted to go to Australia, and I am planning on going to talk to them about attempting to plan for my junior year.  I am also very excited to see everyone’s presentations.  It seems as though everyone is putting so much effort into their projects.  I can’t wait.
    • I’m looking forward to it too!  It will be great!
  • I enjoyed the quote and this class.  I wish Global Studies was a minor.
  • Can’t wait to see the projects!
    • You’ll love them!

Section 009 (TR)

  • The guest speakers enthusiasm was contagious, made me excited to at least look into studying abroad.  The classes you take during the study abroad, do they pertain to the country and the trip or are they classes we would have taken at MTSU anyways?
    • Both–actually.  Some classes are specifically offered for different regions, while other courses would count towards general education requirements.  Again, each program is different and it also depends on the study.  Visit the Education Abroad office!
  • I wasn’t really considering studying abroad but I really think they sold me on it.  It actually sounds like I could afford it!  For someone who needs a change in life, it’s just too tempting.
    • Do it!
  • Today was a good day to hear the speakers since I’ve been thinking about studying abroad for a while.  I even researched plane tickets this morning on that student discount site.  $719 for a round trip to Dublin?  Sign me up. P.S. Emerson has always been my absolute favorite.  I love the transcendentalists.
    • Can I go to Dublin too?  
  • I really liked the guest speakers today!  I really am impressed with the fact that there are internship opportunities here at MTSU in the Study Abroad office.  Also, I liked the fact that one of the ladies has a job here at MTSU just after graduating!
  • I’ve learned so much from this course!  It’s helped increase my knowledge on topics I’m already aware of as well as brought new events to my attention.
    • It ain’t over til it’s over!  Still so much more to learn from student presentations!
  • I really appreciated being able to hear personal experiences from traveling abroad.  And the tips were very helpful.
    • Like I said, pack your own personal pillowcase.  Not the whole pillow, just the case.  
  • I really enjoyed the guest speakers and I can’t wait to study abroad  myself.  Also, I recently set my major as Global Studies, are there any specific classes you would recommend I start taking?
    • Welcome to the program!  There is a list of recommended electives for GS majors/minors in our program office.  Stop by there and check out the list!

Leave a comment