Student Feedback (Week 10)

Student FeedbackWhat a great week!  I had such a great week teaching you all new information.  Overall everyone seemed to learn and process all of this information.  Finishing up week ten of fifteen classes, you all are doing an amazing job.  Keep up the great work!  Check out the feedback from my other sections too.  Many great questions and comments that will benefit all of my students.

The italicized comments are my responses.  I value all feedback, opinions, and contributions to the classroom.  Thank you for sharing this with me–it helps me address your needs as a section.  Please review these weekly, you’ll find that it benefits you well.  Be intentional when it comes to your education.  

Section 001 (MW)

  • It’s really scary how many issues go unnoticed in today’s society.  Thank ou for helping bring awareness to these issues.  I wish there was something that could be done to stop human trafficking for good.
  • I am constantly impressed by your dedication and thoughtfulness with this class.  You bring such intentional positivity to your work.  I definitely appreciate this as it is very refreshing.  It solidifies my interests in global issues.  I’ve learned so much already! Thanks.
    • Thank you!  I definitely understand what it means to be a student (because in reality I will forever be one…).  I enjoy being with my students and my students are honestly my number one priority.  Sometimes managing 160+ students gets very challenging, but trust me when I say this–I love every minute of it.  You all are incredible students and I truly believe it.  I want you all to go out into the world and be better than I’ll ever be…seriously… I strive to be better than the teachers that I’ve had in my life, and I encourage you to do the same.
  • Found the movie interesting having done several tours in Afghanistan and seeing their culture firsthand.  In our briefing they would inform us that “Women are making babies and men are for pleasure” in their culture.
    • Very interesting.  Thank you for sharing this with us.  And thanks for your service.
  • I always thought human trafficking was mostly in European countries only because in almost every city there are red light districts, it’s crazy to know there are many more out there that really are “invisible” because we have no idea!
    • Crime has no address!
  • As Americans we fail to see outside our own problems.  Human trafficking should be brought to attention and put to rest.  It’s amazing how much I’m taking in from this class.  My mind has become open and more aware of global issues.
    • Global citizenship!  Amazing!  Keep up the great work!
  • No no no no no no no no no way!  I didn’t like the video from today but I made myself stay an watch (I really wanted to leave) because I feel like the more you know about something like this you might be able to do something–if not now, hopefully in the future.  It breaks my heart to see.
    • I definitely agree with you–the more you know!  😉
  • What has the journalist told these guys for them to agree to talk about this on camera?  I think it’s crazy how open these men are about talking about their experiences with the boys.  It’s like they have no shame.  My heart breaks for those boys.
    • Najibullah was an undercover investigator that guised his intent for the documentary on following similar practices in Europe.  As you saw in the film, he had to establish a working relationship with the individuals and worked for many years to document this story.  

SECTION 006 (TR)

  • What do you do in your free time when you don’t have to teach?
    • Ha, while I love teaching, I also love exploring.  Anything that intellectually or physically stimulates me–sign me up!  I’m often planning trips, figuring out what location is possible to travel to next… You could definitely say some of the things that I value more than anything is quality time with family and friends.  I work hard to use my savings on experiences–finding and doing things that are memorable.  So, to answer your question, when I’m not teaching I’m often traveling, finding new places to eat, and scouting deals on Groupon and LivingSocial to see what kind of deal I can find.  🙂  I also  volunteer once a week at Vanderbilt Children’s Hospital in the hematology/oncology clinic–which is where I find a lot of satisfaction and rewards serving.  🙂
  • The Cherry Blossom Festival is this Saturday in Nashville in the Public Square of the Metro Courthouse from 10am to 4pm.  Cherry Blossom trees are my favorite plant.  What is your favorite plant?
    • I actually love plants!  In my home, I have a spider plant that I love.  It’s so funky. I love how plants calm me down and make my apartment feel cozy!  Here’s a pic of one of my many plants.  🙂 
  • I love how this class has brought ‘global awareness’ to me!  Even though I have traveld to many countries, I never heard of Bacha Bazi practices in Afghanistan.
    • This is great feedback!  Glad that you’re able to learn inside the classroom as well as out of it.  
  • Bacha Bazi disgusts and upsets me.  It hurts so bad to see these small children being groomed to be sex slaves.  What’s even worse is that a lot of these boys have no choice but to be so cavalier about it. Can’t the UN step in?
    • Yes, they are working in their independent organizations to combat these problems–but a few things prohibit them from succeeding–lack of financial support, sensitivity of the topic, and internal corruption, unfortunately.  
  • Some good places to go study abroad?  Also, are there scholarships or financial help for these programs?
    • Great question!  Be patient with me–I have guests coming in to class to speak on this topic specifically!  If you have more questions afterwards, let me know and I’ll do my best to help.
  • I like watching documentaries like this, they are so eye-opening.  How is homosexuality viewed in the Afghani culture?  What about child molestation?  It’s truly unfortunate what these you boys have to go through.
    • This is a question that was asked more than once.  Both homosexuality and child molestation is publicly frowned upon (keyword: publicly).  However, because this practice is rooted in history and traditional customs, it’s not so much a struggle of understanding homosexuality as it is power and authority.  
  • Do you think because women in Afghanistan are such taboo and covered and basically disregarded in society that they rely on these boys for their pleasure?  Desperate times–desperate measures.  These young boys are very feminine.  No facial hair, soft looking like women.  I feel that because of this limited access to women in society that is perhaps why it has become popular again.  P.S.  Could we do a short Q&A about the final project and paper?  I’m still confused about some things.
    • Interesting observations.  One thing to remember about this practice is that while it does happen behind closed doors, it’s not as prevalent as it may seem.  I don’t think it’s so much about the lack of the presence of women in society as much as it is dealing with previous customs and traditions rooted in history.  And your observations about the young boys–again, they’re young boys.  They haven’t fully completed puberty, much less begin it sometimes… but again it’s not so much rooted in feminist and gender issues as it is about power and authority.  Great observations, great question.  As far as the final project, absolutely–let’s talk about it.  If not in class, meet with me one-on-one.  

Section 009 (TR)

  • Enjoying class!  I can’t believe it’s getting close to being over!
    • Time flies when you’re having fun…learning!  
  • Talking about things like the sex trade is often hard, but you don’t make it awkward.  Thanks for being able to bring such difficult issues into the classroom.
    • You’re welcome!
  • That movie was very powerful.  I had no idea that stuff like that was happening.  People discuss the trafficking of females, but never males.  It’s devastating.
    • I’m glad you made that observation.  It’s important to acknowledge that males too can be victims, unfortunately.  
  • The documentary was very educating.  I really wish this horrible trafficking would stop! Can this issue be turned to the United Nations?
    • Absolutely, and the UN is involved along with other NGOs, too.  
  • Great video!  I usually seem to know the major issue that’s going on in the Middle East; however, I had no knowledge about bacha bazi.  Where do you get all these videos from?
    • The honest answer to this is just research.  My training in graduate school and my own efforts in research has helped me design curriculum that works best for my interests and students.  
  • I was wondering, can we use the information from our previous writing assignments?  Like word for word?  And can we just put together all of the information with different focuses, or does the paper have to focus on a specific topic?
    • As instructed on the Final Project Information Packet (which can be found in D2L), your final research paper should focus on one topic that falls under one of the six categories that are provided as options.  Yes, you actually should use information from your previous writing assignments–it is the reason why I designed the writing assignments to benefit you at the end of the course.  Revisit the sources that you’ve cited and create a research paper that is fluid, informative, and flawless.
  • Every day I hear people complain about things, like not having the best phone or expensive item and things of the like; I include myself in this.  But we don’t realize how much people in the world go through… these people are subjected to situations they cannot control, while we have freedom to choose whatever we want.  It literally opens your eyes to be thankful for where you live and the luxuries given to us.
    • Great observation!  While we continue to make progress in social justice and human rights, it is obvious that we still have challenges and obstacles ahead…
  • Did you say we might get a few extra points for dressing like our country for our presentation?
    • Dressing in attire symbolic of your country definitely will help you with your overall presentation, but no it will not earn you any ‘extra’ points.  
  • I guess because of the ignorance of our society, I didn’t realize how prevalent human trafficking still is, and I now believe it is important to keep yourself informed of such terrible travesties.
    • Whether it’s human trafficking specifically or just current events–staying informed benefits you ultimately.  I encourage you and challenge you to keep up with current events and global affairs–not because it benefits me–but because it’ll help you in the long run.  Being informed and educating yourself is one of the ultimate rewards in life.  Knowledge is powerful, truly!  
  • This is my favorite class!  It’s so much fun and I learn a lot too.  🙂
    • Great!  Glad you joined me this semester.
  • How is it that taboo issues can get all this awareness but are not supposed to be talked about?
    • One of the many conundrums…
  • Vice.com has some interesting short films having to do with global things.  Specifically, their “Vice guide to travel” series is pretty neat.  Not necessarily scholarly…worth checking out.
    • Thanks for the recommendation!  Definitely looking into it!

Leave a comment