Student Feedback (Week 09)

Student FeedbackMy apologies for the short week but I thank you all for your cooperation and patience.

The italicized comments are my responses.  I value all feedback, opinions, and contributions to the classroom.  Thank you for sharing this with me–it helps me address your needs as a section.  Please review these weekly, you’ll find that it benefits you well.  Be intentional when it comes to your education.  

Section 001 (MW)

  • I really enjoyed the book.  It made me aware that people come from different places and thus have different views on things, and I should be aware and respectful of the different cultures if and when I travel.  I enjoyed the different types of stories about the north and the south, and about France and California and other places mentioned.  This class continues to open my eyes.
    • I’m really glad to hear that.  Thanks for the feedback!
  • I love this class!  One thing I forgot to bring up in our group discussion was how hot-climate individuals didn’t really say how they really felt and the difference between that and cold-climate people who are very blunt.  I feel like communication would be so much better as a whole around the world.
    • Isn’t that an interesting point?  Think about how effective business meetings would be… Actually, think about how much better living situations would be for those with roommates!
  • I went to Chicago for spring break and was really surprised about the cultural differences.  After reading Foreign to Familiar, I kind of laughed to myself about how accurate the information was.  After the tenth, “Is that a southern accent I hear?”, I finally asked why it was such a big deal.  They all said the same thing:  They love women from the south and appreciate southern hospitality.  I then realized that only men were the ones reacting and women just looked away and didn’t say anything.  I thought it was so strange that men thought that way.  One man told me that he finds women from Chicago, and the north in general, to be unattractive because of their cold-climate mannerisms.  He said they just weren’t nice.  I made a lot of friends just by being from a different region.  It was very eye-opening.
    • Great example!  Thanks for sharing this! 
  • I’ve been looking into organizations like the Peace Corps but I was wondering if you could suggest some others.
    • Check out Teach for America, AmeriCorps, or any other non-profit organizations that work abroad.  There’s also the option of teaching English abroad…
  • The book helped put globalization on a personal level.  Although it was generalized, it allowed for individual realizations about subculture backgrounds.

SECTION 006 (TR)

  • I really enjoyed this book and recommend it to anyone going abroad or to a different region.
  • I liked the book a lot.  I am in an anthropology class and it put different cultures in perspective.
  • I always enjoy our group discussions.
    • You all do a fantastic job!  Thanks for sharing your thoughts and ideas together.  It is just as interesting for me.
  • Which climate would you prefer?  Hot or cold?  Why?
    • This is a tough one to answer.  While I enjoy living in a hot-climate culture, I also value the directness of cold-climate cultures.  I like getting things done efficiently and effectively.  I also don’t think that cold-climate cultures are necessarily less caring.  Actually, let me travel to a hot-climate culture and then I’ll get back to you… 
  • What’s your favorite food?
    • I love pretty much all traditional southeast Asian dishes–anything with spices.  Big fan of curry too.  I also love chimichangas!
  • What kind of career can I get with a psychology major and a double minor in sociology and global studies?
    • Not too sure on this, but I would explore working for governmental agencies.  Perhaps as a case manager of sorts looking at different social work cases.  If that doesn’t interest  you, you can always explore working for think tanks looking at various global issues in intelligence agencies.  
  • Round circle discussion is awesome!  It is good to see faces as people are talking and vice versa.
    • I agree!  I’ll try to continue these types of discussions more often.
  • Awesome discussion, I’m pretty sure everyone talked at least once.  So great job!
    • You all did a great job!
  • I grew up in the south and one question I have about colder climates is how do people make friends without the friendly atmosphere being established?
    • Great question–network!  Relationship building starts with one person one at a time, making connections with others… Not the answer you’re looking for probably, but interpersonal skills are so important.

Section 009 (TR)

  • The book you assigned was GREAT!  I have retained so much information and am planning on sharing this book with many of my friends, so they can understand why I am the way I am (hot-climate) and to establish a better understanding between us.
  • Loved the discussion.  When we do the presentations will  you also bring food?
    • I will not bring any food, but if I think of something easy I’ll try…
  • What is your favorite food from Laos?
    • Khao piak sen — it’s a soft noodle dish usually cooked with a chicken broth.
  • I really enjoyed the book and noting its (mostly) accurate statements on the different climates.  I especially loved hearing everyone else’s insights on the cultural differences, like Reddy’s.
    • I agree!  Great point on the ‘mostly accurate statements’.  I also enjoy hearing from all of your classmates too.  
  • I usually don’t read the entire book that I’m assigned for classes.  But I started reading this book and was really interested and finished it.
    • Ha!  Glad you enjoyed it.  
  • This book was a great, easy read.  I love learning about different cultures.  I appreciate your enthusiasm.  Good job.
    • Sorry I wasn’t feeling as enthusiastic as normal!  
  • What do you think about a British artist winning so many awards this year?  Does it set fire to your rain?
    • Ha ha…I assume you’re talking about Adele.  She is definitely talented and well deserving of awards earned…good for her.  

Leave a comment