Student Feedback (Week 08)

Student FeedbackSpring break!  (Is there really anything else more to say?)

The italicized comments are my responses.  I value all feedback, opinions, and contributions to the classroom.  Thank you for sharing this with me–it helps me address your needs as a section.  Please review these weekly, you’ll find that it benefits you well.  Be intentional when it comes to your education.  

Section 001 (MW)

  • Great class.  I’m already telling people to take this class next semester.  Honestly one of the classes I look forward to every week.  Thanks!
    • Thanks!  This is very kind.  I appreciate it very much, especially recruiting new students.  Please let me know what I can do better for you.  
  • What are some good websites that I can learn more about fistula?
  • I really enjoyed the documentary, it really played on my heart strings and made me think about things.  How blessed I am to have a job and to be able to pay for things, when people across the ocean are suffering simply over $450.  It’s changing my views on things for the better and to really enjoy the change and look forward to more eye opening experiences!
    • Thanks for sharing!
  • All of Foreign to Familiar needs to be read over spring break?  How should we study for the quiz?
    • Yes, all of it.  As long as you can identify the key concepts and characteristics of hot- and cold-climate cultures you will do well.
  • Do you teach any classes this summer?
    • Yes, but only the same course currently.  
  • Still loving the class.  Thanks for keeping it interesting.   🙂  Starting to think I might change my major.  Again!
    • Visit the Global Studies office in Peck Hall or online.  We’d love to have you join our program!  


SECTION 006 (TR)

  • “Things change, people leave, and life doesn’t stop for anybody.”  – Perks of Being a Wallflower
    • Great book!  Thanks for sharing.
  • I like that you give us our final project so far in advance that our prior work can contribute to the final project.  If only other courses with papers and projects would do it in a similar way.
    • Thanks for this feedback!  It actually helps me out a lot.  Again, I’m all about learning… Glad that you feel it is helpful the way I set up my course.  Great to know.
  • Can we make videos for our final project?
    • Great question!  The answer is YES!  Can’t wait to see it!
  • Fistula is obviously a big problem for the women we saw in the documentary.  What are some ways you think it can be talking?
    • Advocacy is probably the most effective way to share information on global health issues.  Policy makers and health professionals seek support all the time, but unfortunately (and fortunately) the individuals that have a platform for sharing this kind of information are often people in the public eye. (i.e. doctors, educators, politicians, and…celebrities.)
  • Are you going anywhere special or exciting for spring break?
    • I’ll be tweeting live from San Francisco!  
  • What are some local attractions/locations that you suggest visiting?
    • If you’re staying in Nashville–check out the Frist Museum and the Country Music Hall of Fame.   I also really like the Grand Ole Opry, you can check out some amazing shows there.  You don’t even have to be the biggest fan of country music, it’s just an incredible experience to watch live music in a place where so many incredibly talented people have played.  If you’re a foodie like me, check out: Mad Donna’s in East Nashville, and SATCO, Rotier’s, Rumba, and Tin Angel in West End.  
  • I really like getting the feedback/comments on the test and assignments rather than just getting a grade.
    • It’s definitely important for me to give as much feedback as possible.  Thanks for being patient with me as I return your course work.  
  • @Nashforfree is a Twitter link for free food, free music, etc. in Nashville.
    • I follow them too!  Great resources.
  • For a Global Studies minor, can you take GS3010 and the Senior Seminar (GS4990) in the same semester?  Thanks.
    • Generally, there aren’t problems with our students taking it in the same semester, just make sure you meet with an adviser and plan accordingly.  
  • Have a great spring break!
    • Oh I will!  You too! 🙂

Section 009 (TR)

  • “We don’t always succeed in what we try–certainly not by the world’s standards–but I think you’ll find it’s the willingness to keep trying that matters most.” – Mr. Rogers  When I’m going through a time where I’m thinking why am I doing this or I just want to quit, this quote is what I keep coming back to.
    • This is awesome!  Thank you for sharing this with us.
  • The video “A Walk to Beautiful” was definitely eye opening.  Videos like these actually make us aware of the world and show us how blessed we truly are.
  • That movie was beautiful.  I found myself getting emotional when they were traveling and the very end when they were “fixed”.
    • It was definitely emotional!  I agree, but it’s so important for us to be aware too.
  • In Greek mythology, is Medusa considered a goddess?  Or classified as something else?  What is your favorite color?
    • Medusa is not considered a goddess but a creature.   My favorite color is green, but I generally like all natural-earthy colors.  🙂
  • Can our presentation and final research paper be on different topics?
    • Yes
  • So pumped for the presentations!  Can’t wait!
    • Love your enthusiasm!  I’m excited too!
  • If you’ve never watched Band of Brothers, do so.  It’s an HBO mini-series about Easy Company in WWII.  Yesterday on the news, a member of the actual company, Buck, died.  Many actors attended the funeral.  The series teaches so much about the growth of the US’s involvement worldwide–not only do you see D-Day, Normandy, etc; but also peace talks, locals’ reactions to the soldiers…it’s very moving.
    • Great recommendation!  I don’t have HBO but I’ll look into it!
  • Have a great weekend!
    • Have a great spring break!

Leave a comment