Student Feedback (Week 07)

Student FeedbackYou all have completed your first exam!  Take a breather and relax a bit…we will resume learning about culture in the next few weeks.  There will be more opportunities to share information with your classmates and me.

Great job all!  I loved the discussions this week.  Really great to witness such amazing diversity.

The italicized comments are my responses.  I value all feedback, opinions, and contributions to the classroom.  Thank you for sharing this with me–it helps me address your needs as a section.  Please review these weekly, you’ll find that it benefits you well.  Be intentional when it comes to your education.  

Section 001 (MW)

  • I love the circle discussions–I feel like it gives everyone a chance to speak up and everyone is facing each other, so everyone is paying attention and respect.
    • Respect is what’s most important in my classrooms!
  • Love the group conversations we have.  I like hearing about your personal experiences too!  It’s nice to have a professor who will talk about what they think or what they have been through.
    • I want you to also formulate your own ideas, thoughts, and opinions, but when prompted, I’m happy to share mine.  🙂
  • This class has really helped open my eyes and sparked a new thirst to learn more and become more involved in ourworld.
    • Awesome!  So glad to hear this.
  • Thank you for coming back to the CPA discussion.
    • You’re welcome.  I enjoyed it just as much as you did.
  • I really enjoy listening to everybody’s opinions over culture, race, religion, sexuality… Definitely agree to disagree.
    • Good point!  Important point about agreeing to disagree.
  • Wow.  Great discussion.  I didn’t think it would be this informative or intense.  It was…good to see the communication (verbal and non-verbal) within the group when hard topics were introduced.  Part of the lesson, it seems, was learning from each other as well as other cultures.
    • Well said!  Teachable moments are everywhere.
  • I love this class!  The cultural discussions are extremely interesting.  Also, the talks about racism and the way people think about other people.  But to realize that I am guilty about thinking about people a certain way, and I should be more aware about what to think, and to really wish other people would as well.  It seems like a simple concept but it is so difficult.
    • It is difficult for everyone.  These are the challenges we encounter daily–not just in our classrooms but worldwide.  Fortunately, one of the best things to help when dealing with racism is dialogue.  Conversations can be educational.
  • The discussion today was awesome.  You’ve created a safe, interesting environment for us to discuss openly with one another about our emotions and opinions.
    • It is our classroom and your security and education is my number one priority.  I am glad you are enjoying the course.

SECTION 006 (TR)

  • I really enjoyed the discussion today.  It was really cool to hear everyone’s opinions about cultures, races, orientation, etc.  This song reminds me of our discussion:  “Long Way to Go” by Gwen Setefani.
    • Thanks for the recommendation!  For those of you interested, listen to the song here.
  • Going off of PTDBTH–There is something called Invisible Children that I forgot about, it is based in Uganda and IDP’s make bracelets and sel them for money in a life where income is rare.  It is really worth looking into.
    • I’ve heard about Invisible Children too.  Check out their website!  
  • What types of problems have you ran into racially, and even from racial misidentification?
    • Like others, the problems I’ve ran into personally often have been related to misidentification–where others fail to acknowledge diversity of ethnic origins and cultures.
  • It would have been a little more helpful to have known the format of the test ahead of time.
    • I did inform you all.  The question has been asked in class and it was previously listed in Week 05’s Student Feedback.
  • Do you experience discrimination/racism while living in the U.S.?  Especially in the South?  Or ignorance toward your nationality specifically?  Confusion about it?  I doubt many people could find Laos on a map.  I couldn’t.
    • Yes, I’ve experienced it before.  Discrimination happens everywhere and is not confined to a local or regional area.  My experience living in the south has been pleasant, for the most part.  There have been instances where that was not the case, but I’ve let it go.  Never let anyone talk down to you–for any reason–and always stand up for your beliefs.  Integrity and values are most important.  
  • Where is your favorite country to visit?  And what countries would you recommend to visit?
    • My favorite country that I’ve visited in the past is Scotland.  It’s incredibly beautiful and majestic.  Hike Arthur’s Seat, it’ll be worth your time and it’ll be a memorable experience.  I also recommend visiting Italy and Spain–both beautiful and unique in its own ways.  I just went to Argentina last August and I loved that experience too!  Wherever you go, just have an open mind about it and you’ll enjoy it.
  • Nashville Anime Day is a one day convention this Saturday.
    • Thanks for sharing, here’s info on it folks!
  • This class is so inspirational.  I feel as though my eyes are opening to the world around me.  Even when I walk across campus I begin to notice all of the different cultures around me.  I came from a very closed-minded community and school, like everyone is so judgmental if you are “different,” so being able to sit in a class and discuss and relate different cultures is just an amazingopportunity.
    •  Thank you for sharing this with me!  It’s really important to acknowledge our differences.  Many of you all shared similar thoughts and feedback, and remember we have a responsibility to pay it forward.  
  • Will there be any other extra credit opportunities?
    • Yes!  I’ll announce them as I find them.

Section 009 (TR)

  • I really like talking about different cultures and sitting in a circle.  Can we do it again?
    • Absolutely!  I’ll try my best to implement more activities into the course.
  • Have a great weekend!  Loved the format of the test.  Keep us posted on more extra credit.
    • I will definitely let you know as soon as I find more opportunities.
  • I think it’s very important to understand cultural differences and to share personal experiences to grow culturally and to understand some aspects that maybe we didn’t before coming in.
    • I’m glad you shared this–great points!  I always ask myself at the end of the day, “Did I learn something new today?”
  • I think it would have been cool to interview someone from the country we are studying.
    • I’ll see how I can make the projects work together in future semesters.
  • Loved how we all digressed to the racism and stereotyping discussion.  I enjoyed hearing everyone’s insights of how they have been judged for who they are.  This class is awesome and you do a good job to connect what we talk about to the course.
    • If there are any times where things seem unclear, please let me know and I’ll do my best to help you connect it all together.
  • Some of my Lao friends have Lao names and American names.  Do you have a Lao name too?
    • Yes, my Lao name is Tuck.
  • Killed the bonus questions.  #winning
    • Nice!  #education

Leave a comment